Top Sports News
You are here: Home / Tennis / Bopanna-Qureshi win Dubai title

Bopanna-Qureshi win Dubai title

bopanna-qureshiIndian ace Rohan Bopanna and his Pakistani partner Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi have clinched their fifth ATP World Tour doubles title by beating Daniel Nestor of Canada and Nenad Zimonjic of Serbia 6-4, 6-3 in the final of the US$ 2,359,935 Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships. The second seeded ‘Indo-Pak Express’ needed one hour and eight minutes to demolish the challenge of their rivals in the summit clash. This victory was a sort of a revenge for Bopanna and Qureshi who lost to the same opponents in the final of the Sydney International in January. It was their first title since the 2011 BNP Paribas Masters in Paris.

Bopanna-Qureshi who were playing with different partners for last two seasons, re-united at the beginning of the season and instantly succeeded in making their presence felt in the circuit. They also reached the finals in Sydney where they lost to Nestor/ Zimonjic pair.

Bopanna-Qureshi survived a scare before diffusing the challenge of Nikolay Davydenko of Russia and Victor Hanescu of Romania in the opening match. After winning first set, the duo lost the second and came back strongly in the tie-breaker to beat the unseeded pair. In the quarter final too they were stretched to length by Indo-Uzbek pair of Mahesh Bhupathi and Denis Istomin but next two rounds were easy sailing for them. Hereunder are the details –

Round Opponents Score
1st round beat Nikolay Davydenko (Russia) / Victor Hanescu (Romania) 6-1, 5-7, 10-8
Quarter Final beat Mahesh Bhupathi (India) / Denis Istomin (Uzbekistan) 5-7, 7-6, 10-7
Semi Final beat Tomasz Bednarek / Lukas Dlouhy (Czech Rep) 6-2, 6-0
Final beat Daniel Nestor (Canada) / Nenad Zimonjic (Serbia) 7-6, 3-6, 11-9

Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships has always been a happy hunting ground for Indian Tennis stars. It was 7th occasion when an Indian was figured in the champions roll. It was also the second time, Bopanna lifted this title. He previously won it in 2012 with compatriot Mahesh Bhupathi. 

Indian player on the champions-roll

Year Champion-Team Rival Team
1998 Mahesh Bhupathi / Leander Paes Donald Johnson / Francisco Montana (USA)
2003 Leander Paes / David Rikl (Czech Rep) Wayne Black / Kevin Ullyett (Zimbabwe)
2004 Mahesh Bhupathi / Fabrice Santoro (France) Leander Paes (India) / Jonas Bjorkman (Sweden)
2008 Mahesh Bhupathi / Mark Knowles (Bahamas) Martin Damm / Pavel Vizner (Czech Rep)
2012 Mahesh Bhupathi / Roahan Bopanna Marcin Matkowski / Mariusz Fyrstenberg (Poland)
2013 Mahesh Bhupayhi / Michael Llodra (France) Robert Lindstedt (Sweden) / Nenad Ziminjic (Serbia)
2014 Rohan Bopanna / Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi (Pakistan) Daniel Nestor (Canada) / Nenad Zimonjic (Serbia)


… by Animesh Khare


Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top