Top Sports News
You are here: Home / Football / Football World Cup

Football World Cup

wctrophy1            Initiating a Football World Cup competition, first came into discussion at the Federation of International Football Association’s (FIFA) Congress, held at Antwerp in 1920. Eight years later in 1928 FIFA Congress at Amsterdam, Jules Rimet, President of French Football Association, again moved the idea of holding the World Cup and on May 28, 1928, FIFA decided to stage the World Cup. Jules Rimet who was also elected President of FIFA during the same Congress, prepared roadmap and did all the groundwork to realise his dream into reality. The trophy was rightly named after him – Jules Rimet Cup. Olympic champion Uruguay, which was to celebrate their centenary of independence in 1930, was selected as a host country for the first World Cup. 13 teams took part in the inaugura competition and host Uruguay went on to claim first title, defeating Argentina in the final.

             After the successful start, there was no looking back. With every outing, the number of participating countries is growing up considerably and at present more than 200 countries are competiting in the qualifying round to find a berth in the World Cup’s main draw. 

             From 1930 to 1070, Jules Rimet Trophy was awarded to the winners. Brazil won their third title in 1970 and and got the possession of the trophy permanently. There after a new trophy known as FIFA World Cup was designed and took place of Jules Rimet Trophy. The new trophy is 36 cm high, made of solid 18 carat gold and weighs 6.175kg. The base contains two layers of green strips while the bottom side of the trophy bears the engraved year and name of the winners since 1974. This new trophy is not awarded to the winning nation permanently.

           At the start of the 2014 Brazil World Cup, 19 tournaments have been held. Only eight countries have the distinction of winning the tournament with Brazil heading the list with five titles. Italy with 4 titles is second followed by Germany (3). Argentina and Uruguay have two titles each while England, France and Spain making the grade with one each. 


… by Arun Arnaw Khare


Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top