Top Sports News
You are here: Home / Cricket / India wins first ODI against Bangladesh

India wins first ODI against Bangladesh

Mirpur, june 15
              Ajinkya Rahane anchored his innings to perfection in the company of comeback man Robin Uthappa and guided India to a comfortable seven-wicket victory in a rain-truncated first ODI against Bangladesh.

Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane

        Chasing a target of 273 in 50 overs, India were cruising along at 100 for one in 16.4 overs when the heavens opened up leading to a nearly two-hour delay.

         This led to a revised target of 150 in 26 overs courtesy of D/L method, which India achieved with seven balls to spare. The foundation was laid by Rahane, who scored 64 off 70 balls and shared a 99-run opening stand with Uthappa.

           It was an impressive comeback for Uthappa in India colours after a break of six years. He seemed to carry his IPL form into international cricket, hitting three fours and as many sixes.

          Cheteshwar Pujara (0) would consider himself unlucky for being adjudged leg before off Shakib with the ball hitting him on the thigh pads and clearly going above the stumps.

       Earlier, an inexperienced Indian attack led by fast bowler Umesh Yadav performed admirably on a flat track restricting hosts Bangladesh to 272 for nine in 50 overs.

          Yadav grabbed three for 48 in nine overs as skipper Mushfiqur Rahim (59) and star all-rounder Shakib al Hasan (52) struck half-centuries after the former opted to make first use of the conditions.

       Debutant Parveez Rasool (2/60) grabbed couple of important top-order wickets while Amit Mishra (2/55) struck twice in the rear. 

Bangladesh : Batting

T Iqbal c Saha b Yadav 0

AHaque c Rayudu b Rasool 44

M Haque c Saha b Yadav 6

M Rahim c Rahane b Rasool 59

S Hasan c & b Raina 52

Mahmudullah b Mishra 41

N Hossain c Rahane b Mishra 22

Z Rahman c Raina b Yadav 2

M Mortaza b Patel 18

A Razzak not out 16

A Hossain not out 1

Extras: ((lb 3, w 8) 11

Total: (9 wickets; 50 overs) 272

Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-35, 3-87, 4-134, 5-199, 6-229, 7-234, 8-235

Bowling : India

M Sharma 5.4-1-23-0

U Yadav 9-0-48-3

Uthappa 0.2-0-0-0

A Patel 10-0-59-1

A Mishra 10-0-55-2

P Rasool 10-0-60-2

S Raina 5-0-24-1

India : Batting

Uthappa lbw b Hasan 50

Rahane c Rahman b Mortaza 64

Pujara lbw b Hasan 0

Rayudu not out 16

Raina not out 15

Extras (w 8) 8

Total (3 wickets; 24.5 overs) 153

Fall of wickets: 1-99, 2-100, 3-135

Bowling : Bangladesh

Mortaza 5-0-25-1

Hossain 5-0-32-0

Hasan 6-0-27-2

Razzak 5-0-34-0

Rahman 1-0-9-0

Mahmudullah 2.5-0-26-0

Target revised as per D/L method

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top