Top Sports News
You are here: Home / Cricket / Binny creats history, India wins 2nd ODI

Binny creats history, India wins 2nd ODI

Dhaka, June 17 : 

            Medium-pacer Stuart Binny bagged six wickets as India registered an unexpected 47-run victory against Bangladesh via Duckworth-Lewis method in the rain-curtailed second One-day International to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series, here today.

Stuart Binny

Stuart Binny

              Sent into bat, Indian batsmen produced a below-par performance to be bowled out for a paltry 105 runs in rain-truncated 41 overs-a-side game. But the pace combination of Binny (6-4) and Mohit Sharma (4-22) saved India from humiliation as they bundled out Bangladesh for a record 58 runs in 17.4 overs to help the visitors defend their lowest score against the hosts.

         The Binny heroics came after Bangladesh pacer Taskin Ahmed scalped five wickets for 28 runs on his debut to bowl India out for 105 in 25.3 overs.

            But if India’s 105 was much less than their previous low of 191 in Port of Spain during the 2007 World Cup then Bangladesh also sank to a new low as their previous lowest against the Men in Blue was 76 in 2003 at Dhaka.

             Binny, whose figures are best by any Indian bowler in ODI’s bettering Anil Kumble’s 6-12 against West Indies in 1993, was ably supported by medium pacer Mohit from the other end.

          After Mohit sent back the Bangla openers, Binny joined forces to send innings top-scorer Mithun Ali back for 26 and skipper Mushfiqur Rahim for 11. The rest of the batting fell like a pack of cards as Binny and Mohit had little time to celebrate between wickets.

            Earlier put into bat, the stunning Indian collapse was triggered by Taskin, who returned with figures of 5-28, making it the best debut bowling performance by a Bangladesh player. Suresh Raina’s 23-ball 27 was the best that an Indian batsman could manage under overcast conditions. — PTI


India : Batting
R Uthappa c Rahman b Ahmed 14
A Rahane lbw b Mortaza 0
C Pujara lbw b Ahmed 11
A Rayudu lbw b Ahmed 1
S Raina run out 27
W Saha lbw b Mashrafe Mortaza 5
S Binny c Rahim b Ahmed 3
A Patel b Hossain 8
A Mishra lbw b Ahmed 4
M Sharma not out 4
U Yadav c Hossain b Hasan 17
Extras: (lb 6, w 5) 11
Total: (all out; 25.3 overs) 105
Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-26, 3-28, 4-55, 5-65, 6-66, 7-75, 8-81, 9-86, 10-105

Bowling: Bangladesh
M Mortaza 9-1-35-2
A Hossain 5-1-26-1
T Ahmed 8-0-28-5
Z Rahman 1-0-2-0
S Hasan 2.3-0-8-1

Bangladesh : Batting
T Iqbal c Saha b Sharma 4
A Haque c Rahane b Sharma 0
M Ali c Patel b Binny 26
M Rahim c Saha b Binny 11
S Hasan c Saha b Sharma 4
Mahmudullah c Rayudu b Binny 0
N Hossain b Binny 5
Z Rahman c Patel b Sharma 0
M Mortaza c Saha b Binny 2
T Ahmed not out 0
A Hossain b Binny 0
Extras: (w 6) 6
Total: (all out; 17.4 overs) 58
Fall of wickets:
 1-4, 2-13, 3-44, 4-50, 5-50, 6-52, 7-52, 8-56, 9-58, 10-58

Bowling : India
Sharma 8-2-22-4
U Yadav 5-0-32-0
S Binny 4.4-2-4-6

MOM: S Binny

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top